top of page
  • Writer's pictureWelcome Muslim Friends

Novi: Life in Japan as a muslim #1

Updated: Jan 20, 2018


Hi guys! How have you been?? Stay warm and don’t get sick📷😷📷😷 And welcome back to another "Foreign Students Interview" Post!📷🎤

Her name is Novi and she’s from Indonesia!📷🇮🇩 She is a Muslima📷☪️ Selamat datang, Novi!

-- Were there any obstacles when you arrive in Japan??

Novi: Well, first thing first is about FOOD📷🍴 Basically, everything has PORK📷🐷 in it, and VEGETARIAN📷🥗 restaurants and companies that don’t produce pork are rare. Especially when I came here first, I couldn’t understand JAPANESE like “豚肉”(pork) and “ゼラチン”(gelatin)📷🐖 so it was difficult to find what to eat. Even soy sauce, too! It produces ALCOHOL📷🍺 after the process… so I buy soy sauce in LOPIA in Ishikawa and Co-op in Shonandai because they’ve got a NON-ALCOHOL SOY SAUCE! The funny story is, I used to buy Kikkoman Halal soy sauce in Indonesia and bring it back to Japan📷😜 Luckily now I know that Gyomu-super in Shonandai has a halal meats section and so I buy things that I need there📷😄

Sorry guys for such an inconvenient…📷😱 So those who live near Shonandai and having problems with finding halal food, please go check Gyomu-super and Lopia📷🏃‍

Next would be about another obstacle that Novi has in Japan, “Prayers Room” 📷☪️

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page